Pirates and Living

25/06/23


warnings: character death and blood injury in manga panel

I've slept a lot this weekend, probably more than I should've. This past month I've been pretty busy with studying but somehow I've managed to acquire another obssesison. Nowadays I don't watch shows or anime anymore, just go full head on fanfiction and learn everything on Ao3. I guess this comes from my repulse for going to movie theathers, that horrible feeling of getting out of the mall at night when you got in when it was still sunny haunts me everytime.


I simply love the freedom of One Piece.

The fact that anyone can just, pick up a boat and go on an life changing adventure, while going out on open sea and enjoying life in that breath-hitching, eye opening, crying out loud fullness. They cry, suffer and lose. But they also win, laught, love and live. They truly and unapologetic live. I envy them, so much. And Luffy understands this, because that's the reason he wants to be the King of Pirates - he wants to be the freest person alive.

I grew up and still am very sheltered as my parents are very protective. I don't go out by myself of explore new places alone, so I spend most of the time when I'm not doing some obligation, at home. So I guess that's why I like Luffy so much and why I see myself in Coby a lot. At fist, we see Coby as a coward and someone who don't stand up for himself or his goals beacuse of his fear of Alvida.

He's so guided by his fear that he even tries to make Luffy give up on his dream, stating that is too dangerous to seek for the One Piece when every pirate out there has the same goal as him. But Luffy stands on his ground and impresses Coby with his courage and faith. Not only because he knows he'll achive his dream, but also because he's willing to give his best and everything to make it happen.

Then we see how his words and actions inspire Coby to reach for his dream of becoming a Marine. And just like him, some of us need a little push to beacome a better, more confident versions of ourselves.

Later in the manga, we see that Coby made good of his promise, entering the Navy and making his path to his dream.

He also stands for himself and his beliefs even in the face of an angry, murderous and much more stronger than him, Akainu. Even in the face of death.

It's like that saying:

"If you're afraid to die, you're afraid to live. You can't have one without the other."

That's what I see in Roger and Luffy. And even in Shanks, Ace and Coby here. They are not afraid to die because they know they lived it all and owed every second of it.

People like them die smilling.

This is why I feel so devastated, knowing is just fantasy, imagination. Can I ever live this freely in real life? I hope one day I'll be as courageous as this characters, having lived so fully that I do not fear death, and having the boldness and self confidence to run after my dreams.

Hope when you take that jump

You don't fear the fall

Hope when the water rises

You built a wall

Hope when the crowd screams out

It's screaming your name

Hope if everybody runs

You choose to stay


Hope that you fall in love

And it hurts so bad

The only way you can know

You give it all you have

And I hope that you don't suffer

But take the pain

Hope when the moment comes you'll say


I, I did it all

I, I did it all

I owned every second that this world could give

I saw so many places

The things that I did

Yeah, with every broken bone

I swear I lived


Hope that you spend your days

But they all add up

And when that sun goes down

Hope you raise your cup

Oh, oh

I wish that I could witness

All your joy

And all your pain

But until my moment comes, I'll say


I, I did it all

I, I did it all

I owned every second that this world could give

I saw so many places

The things that I did

Yeah, with every broken bone

I swear I lived

slowed down songs · i lived [edit]
©repth